Columbia College Philosophy Prizes:

ADAM LEROY JONES PRIZE: Established by Mrs. Leroy Jones in memory of her husband who was Associate Professor of Philosophy and Director of University Admissions from 1909 until 1934, the prize may be awarded to a student in the College for the best essay on a topic in the Philosophy of Science, or in the Foundations of Logic.   

JAMES GUTMANN PRIZE: Established in 1987 in honor of James Gutmann, CC'18 and Professor of Philosophy, by his family and friends on the occasion of his 90th birthday. It may be awarded each year to a graduating Columbia College senior in Philosophy who plans to pursue graduate work in the field.


Columbia College Philosophy Prize Winners for 2017-2018:

ADAM LEROY JONES PRIZE: Awarded to Nikhil Dominic for his essay "The Utility of Utility: The Philosophical Roots and Revealed Limitations of Expected Utility Theory"

JAMES GUTMANN PRIZE: Awarded to Angela Vettikkal for her essay "The Ends of Epistemology: Reading and Restoring the Project of the Nyāyasūtrabhāṣya"


Philosophy Department Prizes: 

LINA KAHN PRIZE: Established in 1965 by the family of the late Lina Kahn, who received a Ph.D. in Philosophy in 1916. This annual competition, which is open to graduate students only, awards $500 to the best paper in metaphysics.

JONATHAN LIEBERSON MEMORIAL PRIZE: Established in 1990, this annual competition, which is open to graduate students in Philosophy only, awards $1000 to the best essay which shows the applicability of a moral or scientific theory - or both - to a social or historical issue.

DAVID H. SIFF PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE AWARD: Derived from the fund established in memory of David H. Siff, this annual prize was first offered in 1962. This $500 prize is awarded annually to the best graduate or undergraduate paper that deals with philosophy of science.


Philosophy Department Prize Winners for 2016-2017:

LINA KAHN PRIZE: Awarded to Robby Finley for his essay "Aristotle's Account(s) of the Infinite"

JONATHAN LIEBERSON MEMORIAL PRIZE: Awarded to Jonathan Fine for his essay, "Beauty Before the Eyes of Others"

DAVID H. SIFF PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE AWARD: Awarded to Michael Nielsen for his essay, "Deterministic Convergence and Strong Regularity"